Second meeting of the European Council

Lions Europa Forum 2015 Augsburg

Minutes:

Sunday, 11 October 2015	10:45	Dialog Hall
Chairperson	PID Dr. Manfred Westhoff	MD 111 Germany
IP Delegate	ID Svein Berntsen	MD 104 Norway
Vice chairperson	PID Phil Nathan	MD 105 British Isles &Ireland
Vice chairperson	PDG Petar Malamov	MD 130 Bulgaria
Archivist and consultant	ID Jouko Ruissalo	MD 107 Finland
International director	ID Pierre H. Chatel	MD 105 France
International director	ID George Th. Papas	MD 117 Greece & Cyprus
International director	ID Helmut Marhauer	MD 111 Germany
International director	ID Gabriele Sabatosanti Scarpelli	MD 108 Italy
Auditor	PCC Peter Brandenburg	MD 110 Netherlands
General secretary	PDG Prof. Dr. Klaus Letzgus	MD 111 Germany

Language: Simultaneous interpretation into/from all forum languages
Participants: All member countries with one voice each, all Lions without voting or speaking rights

- 1. PID Dr. Manfred Westhoff, chairman of the Europa Forum, welcomes all participants and briefly points out again the standing orders of the meeting rules.
- 2. PID Dr. Manfred Westhoff hands over to general secretary Prof. Dr. Klaus Letzgus to chair the meeting. Prof. Dr. Klaus Letzgus notes that 25 of the 39 members with voting rights are present and that the quorum has thus been reached.
- 3. The motion of MD 101 Sweden regarding the amendment of Annex 1 of the Rules of Procedure is unanimously adopted.
- 4. The motion of D 120 Estonia to hold the European Forum 2019 in Tallinn is unanimously adopted.
- 5. The motion of D 130 Bulgaria regarding voluntary financial support according to article VII no. 3 of the Rules of Procedure is adopted with 15 yes, 8 no and 2 abstentions.
- 6. The motion of MD 105 British Isles & Ireland regarding standardised regulations for "Young Ambassador" is adopted unanimously.
- 7. The motion of the national representatives of the European Musical Competition is adopted according to article 5 .5 of the Rules of Procedure, and Ingo Brookmann is elected unanimously for another three years as the chairman of the competition.

- 8. The membership of the three new members CC Christoph Wirth MD 102 Switzerland, PCC Wilhelm Siemen MD 111 Germany and PID Bojan Sober D 126 Croatia selected by the advisory committee is confirmed according to article 5.5 of the Rules of Procedure.
- 9. PCC Prof. Dr. Jörg Kimmig, programme director of the Europa Forum, reports briefly about the seminars and workshops, emphasising the high level of discussion. He reports that, given the current news headlines, the topics of migration, refugees and integration have centre stage. Other workshops, such as for instance the Lions Europa Agenda 2020 and the Special Olympics, as well as the seminars with the three executive officers IP Dr. Jitsuhiro Yamada, IPIP Joe Preston and VP Bob Corlew have however also been well attended.
- 10. A resolution presented by PIP Eberhard Wirfs on "Lions for Europe Destiny & Hope for Refugees" is adopted unanimously. It states that helping people who had to flee their countries must be one of the top priorities of Lions Clubs International, in the spirit of the organisation's commitment to fostering understanding among nations. According to the resolution, refugees are people who will eventually bring change to their countries of origin and will also trigger new thinking and innovation in their host countries. IPIP Joe Preston spontaneously agrees to increase the donation LCIF for refugee aid and proposes to set up a committee to coordinate the further activities in relation to refugee aid in Europe.
- 11. The resolution of the Euro-Africa committee to establish partnerships of clubs and districts in Europe and Africa, particularly in the area of youth and women's projects, is adopted unanimously.
- 12. PID Phil Nathan reports that the European candidate for the post of international director for the period 2016-2018, which would by right be proposed by MD 105 British Isles & Ireland will be proposed by MD 112 Belgium for internal reasons. However, no candidate can be named at this time.

 CC Jari Rytkönen proposes PCC Markus Flaaming MD 107 Finland, PID Tom Seters and
 - PCC Elisabeth Haderer MD 110 Netherlands as candidates for international director.
- 13. PID Dr. Westhoff closes the meeting at 11:45 and thanks all present for their work and contributions.

PDG Prof. Dr. Klaus Letzgus General secretary of the Europa Forum 2015